#Belgian PPC

TOWARDS THE NEXT STRATEGIC AGENDA

BELGIAN PRE-PRESIDENCY CONFERENCE

23-24 November Egmont Palace, Brussels, Belgium









PROGRAMME

Thursday 23 November

13:30-15:30 PLENARY SESSION

Introductory Remarks

Jim Cloos, Secretary-General, TEPSA

Hadja Lahbib, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Belgium

Pol De Witte, Director-General, Egmont Institute

Panel discussion - The Belgian Presidency and the Next EU Strategic Agenda

Speakers: Richard Youngs, Senior Fellow, Carnegie Europe

Luuk van Middelaar, Founding Director, Brussels Institute for

Geopolitics (BIG)

Aleksandra Palkova, Head of EU Programme, Latvian Institute of

International Affairs (LIIA)

Nathalie Tocci, Director, Istituto Affari Internazionali (IAI)

Willem Van de Voorde, Ambassador, Permanent Representation

of Belgium to the EU

Moderator: Mariam Khotenashvili, Executive Director, TEPSA

15:30-16:00 **COFFEE BREAK**

16:00-17:15 BREAKOUT SESSIONS

Session 1 - Building Democratic Resilience in Europe

Speakers: Elena García Guitián, Full Professor of Political Science,

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM)

Johannes Greubel, Head of the Transnationalisation Programme & Connecting Europe Project Leader, European Policy Centre (EPC)

Colin Scicluna, Head of Cabinet of Vice-President Šuica, European

Commission

Hendrik Van de Velde, Coordinator for the Belgian EU Presidency

2024, Belgian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Moderator: Maximilian Conrad, Professor of Political Science, University of

Iceland

Session 2 - The EU's Security and Defence Capabilities in a Changing Landscape

Speakers: Kristi Raik, Deputy Director and Head of the Foreign Policy

Programme, International Centre for Defence and Security (ICDS)

Sven Biscop, Director, Europe in the World Programme, Egmont

Institute

Camille Grand, Distinguished Policy Fellow, European Council on

Foreign Relations (ECFR)

Moderator: Pernille Rieker, Senior Researcher, Norwegian Institute of

International Affairs (NUPI)

17:15-17:30 **COFFEE BREAK**

17:30-19:00 GENERAL ASSEMBLY (TEPSA delegates only)





Friday 24 November

09:00-10:15 **PLENARY SESSION**

The EU's Integrated Approach to Economic Security and Sustainability

Speakers: Louise van Schaik, Head of the EU and Global Affairs Unit,

Clingendael Institute

Frank Arnauts, Ambassador, Belgian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Isabel Riano Ibanez, Director-General for Competitiveness and

Trade, Council of the European Union

Judith Arnal Martinez, Senior Research Associate, Elcano Royal

Institute

Moderator: Roderick Parkes, Director, Research Institute of the German

Council on Foreign Relations (DGAP)

10:15-11:30 BREAKOUT SESSIONS

Session 1 - Expanding Horizons: Setting the Stage for EU Enlargement

Speakers: Magdalena Gora, Associate Professor, Institute of European

Studies, Jagiellonian University

Elene Panchulidze, Research Coordinator, European Partnership

for Democracy (EPD)

Fredrik Löjdquist, Director, Stockholm Centre for Eastern

European Studies, Swedish institute of International Affairs (UI)

Thomas Hagleitner, Head of the Western Balkans Policy and

Regional Strategy Unit, DG NEAR, European Commission

Moderator: Erik Jones, Director, Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies,

European University Institute (EUI)

Session 2 - The New Migration Pact: Tracing the Road Ahead

Speakers: Camino Mortera Martinez, Head of the Brussels office, Centre for

European Reform (CER)

Henrik Nielsen, Acting Director, DG HOME, European Commission

Marie De Somer, Justice and Home Affairs Counsellor, Permanent

Representation of Belgium to the EU

Eugenia Kopsidi, Resident Faculty Lecturer, European Law and

Governance School (ELGS)

Moderator: Eleonora Milazzo, Joint Research Fellow, Egmont Institute &

European Policy Centre (EPC)

11:30-11:45 **COFFEE BREAK**

11:45-12:45 PLENARY SESSION

Dialogue on the Belgian Presidency of the Benelux

Speakers: Michel-Etienne Tilemans, Deputy Secretary General, Benelux

Union

François Roux, Senior Associate Fellow, Egmont Institute

12:45-13:45 FINAL PLENARY SESSION

The Future of Europe

Speakers: Fabian Zuleeg, Chief Executive and Chief Economist, European

Policy Centre (EPC)

Theodora Gentzis, Director-General, DG Coordination and

European Affairs, Belgian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Jim Cloos, Secretary-General, TEPSA

Federica Mogherini, Rector, College of Europe

Moderator: Jean-Louis de Brouwer, Director, European Affairs Programme,

Egmont Institute