Egmont Institute logo

The 2024 Taiwanese General Elections: fierce moderate Lai prevails while fluid kingmaker Ko rises

Post thumbnail print


The polls have closed, and Lai Ching-te of the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) has won the Taiwanese presidency, beating Hou Yu-ih of the Chinese Nationalist Party (KMT) and Ko Wen-je of the upstart Taiwan People’s Party (TPP). With Lai’s victory, 2024 became the first (post-democratisation) Taiwanese presidential election, where the same party’s nominee was elected three times in succession.

Different from its triumphs of 2016 and 2020, the DPP did not emerge from the elections scot-free. Lai ‘only’ obtained forty per cent of the vote compared to Tsai Ing-wen’s two majority landslides, and the DPP lost the legislative majority it had enjoyed since 2016. Although this result aligned with earlier predictions, there is still a lot that merits further discussion.


The rest of this article can be found on the Taiwan Insight website, the online magazine of the Taiwan Research Hub of the University of Nottingham.


(Photo credit: Jasper Roctus)